16
Oct
12

Free machine fun

This weekend I decided to try out a new foot for the sewing machine that allows you to be freeeeee with your stitches. To test it out I decided to create a little fabric collage of a lighthouse. Here’s how I did it…

1. First of all I stretched a bit of backing fabric across an embroidery hoop and drew an outline of my design onto it.

Embroidery hoop

2.  I then cut lots of little bits of fabric in my chosen colours, including wool for clouds and netting for sea froth, and then glued them down with tiny amounts of PVA glue.

Image

Collage fabric

3. I then used my crazy new free machine foot and sewed all over the place to secure the fabric down. I used different cotton colours and stitch texture for each part of the design.

Image

Sewing machine

4. My finished article! It’s a little bit messy but I’m going to pretend that’s part of the design 😉

Image

Finished article

0 Responses to “Free machine fun”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

